New things to learn and do this year

I’m not a big believer in resolutions. You can make decisions to change your life any day of the year. But goals in general are good, and here’s a few of mine:

  • In the third year of my Bachelor, one tutor accused me of following Russian Structuralist theory. I plan to read up on that and see what it actually is. We got into the discussion via comparative mythology with Joseph Campbell, whom despite what he actually wrote for, his work is now used specifically by fantasy novelists on how to construct a story. I’ve read a bit on Vladimir Propp, a Russian Formalist and his work on defining basic plots for fairy tales (I will work out the difference between these terms – formalit and structuralist – , too).
  • How to write a literary review. I never had to do one before in undergrad, or if I did do it, it wasn’t called a literary review. I’m pretty sure it’s listed in one of my units this year, the first year of the MRes seems to be ‘how to research and write in academia’.
  • For my Aussie Author Month event, I want to explore the intricacies of social media movements and events so its reach increases. It’s a continual work in progress. I want to see more blogs signing up and more funding for the Indigenous Literacy Foundation!
  • Submit to CFP’s. I wrote my first abstract submission for a book chapter at the end of last year to get a feel for the process and get more used to the structure of the abstract (note to self: watch modality!).
  • Read up about roleplaying communities – I started playing DnD about two years ago and there’s two things I’ve noticed 1) staying in character (my lawful mage was stuck the other day, one of our group was found to have stolen from lords and was jailed, and she wouldn’t even dream about breaking him out. He went out like a pincushion, breaking and running from guards with crossbows) 2) meta-gaming, saying something out of character, that then in turn makes another person want to do that in-character, but their characters are no where near each other to actually be able to suggest whatever.
  • Learning more about DnD and tabletop gaming – DM has suggested that my sister and I run a zombie apocalypse campaign, but it’d be very different from the type of games he has run before. Neither sister nor I are good with numbers <.<
  • As with every year, expand my reading into genres, styles, authors, etc that I haven’t read before or much of. Interested in: Life of Pi by Yann Martel, Stephen Fry Chronicles, Sideshow by Lindsey Tanner, The Road by Cormac McCarthy.
  • And lastly (for now), work towards getting into being a tutor with the university. No one should run a genre class if they don’t consider romance/fantasy/sci fi/horror to be of any importance or value!
Leave a Reply

